Snow-covered trees reflect off a mountain lake at Routt National Forest in Grand County, Colorado

Routt National Forest

Over One Million Acres of Natural Scenery and Outdoor Recreation Space

Routt National Forest, established in 1905 and named after John Routt, the first governor of Colorado, spans over 1,125,438 acres in the Northwest Colorado region. Many of those acres are within Grand County’s borders, but Routt National Forest also expands into Routt, Jackson, Rio Blanco, Moffat, and Garfield counties. The Continental Divide splits the forest in half, causing the East portion of the forest to drain into the North Platte River and the West portion to drain into the Yampa River. 

Routt National Forest contains seven wilderness areas entirely or partially within it, allowing visitors many different opportunities and locations to get active year-round. These activities include hiking, biking, camping, horseback riding, OHV riding, fishing, hunting, sightseeing, photography and a wide array of winter sports, just to name a few.

For more information regarding camping restrictions, current road and trail conditions, and more, contact the Forest Service Parks Ranger District or call (970) 723-2700.